I Am Sanaa. I Am Culture


Someone once told me that when young people come together something great always results from it. I had the privilege to meet the working and functioning hands behind this story this Saturday. I shock you not they are mere and ordinary students’ hands running the show. These students sat together to come up with the supreme and extra-ordinary idea, hence the birth of the now famous Sanaa culture.

11149324_1617994295082597_5214245283410481855_n

A platform where young people of different race and tribe get to showcase their God-given talent, speak of their values and voice their opinions on the world today . It avails a chance for these young artists to be heard and be seen either through lyrics or just a mere paintbrush.

“This world is but a canvas to our imagination.”
Henry David Thoreau

Their art depicts a peaceful place of no strife but of conquering weaknesses to become better. It is art for change.
11078094_1621229184759108_4615731837594916171_n_2Of young talent, authentic art and refreshingly good music is just a mere part of the event that was. It all went down at the Michael Joseph centre where young people met to exhibit talent like never before. From spoken word to live music, you name it.

The room full to the brim and good music seething to the top. Dancing and good conversation ruled the day with graceful entertainment.

One artist was after my own heart. She spoke of women. How we are tired of the image we have been forced to compare ourselves to. “If I wear makeup am to plastic if I wear my hair kinky I’m too unkempt!”. Her name, Faith Shikanga, famously known as ‘shikkiey’. Her poise and structure, her voice and word texture left the crowd yearning for more. She possesses great strength in my books, to stand and set the society straight, to air her views publicly caring not of neither rejection nor subjection to the stereotype of the modern African woman. My hands could not have clapped louder and my voice could not have shouted louder than I did that day.

What is an event without good acoustic music? They grasped my attention with the phrase “Mama Kenya amka. Ni wewe na ni mimi.” (Mother of Kenya arise. It is both you and me). Who can forget the four amazing artists that raised their voice to change. ‘Royalty is Black’ is their name. Using their amazing talents and just two guitars, they passed their message across: It’s time we all rose and acknowledge where we are from. “I am African and I am proud”. These are the words that will ring in my head for a very long time. It touched me to see young people embracing their black skin in a time where culture is uprooted and eroded. To stand up and say that I love Africa, in a time where everybody wants to be assimilated to the western culture turning back not to the rich and authentic culture they leave behind. To say I was impressed will be doing a disservice to my heart.

IMG-20150426-WA0015I was thoroughly amazed and utterly impressed on what young people can do given the chance. Putting their time to great use and utilizing the limited resources available to them .I interacted with these young entrepreneurs and I saw vision in their eyes, fire in their hearts and vehemence for what they do. The stereotype and typical misjudgment of the youth was broken. No more sitting down to wait for mum and dad to provide. I salute the sanaa culture and associates team for their great work this past Saturday. I look forward to see more of them and also more of ‘in the closet’ artists showcasing their talent.
To a great weekend that was. Cheers

Yours truly

An impressed citizen

One thought on “I Am Sanaa. I Am Culture

Let me know what you think...